About Valvoline American Late Model Iron-Man Series

The Valvoline American Late Model Iron-Man Series fueled by VP Racing Fuels is a regional touring series for Dirt Late Model racecars and drivers. Formed as a series in 2016, the tour sanctions Dirt Late Model racing and its drivers in various events, with Dirt Late Model racing being one of the premier divisions of short-track racing in America. The Valvoline American Late Model Iron-Man Series sanctions Dirt Late Model events at tracks in Kentucky, Indiana, Ohio and Michigan for the 2024 Racing Season. After being primarily a southeastern United States based tour for most of its existence, the tour has now been split into two regions within the four-state area beginning with the 2024 season. The Iron-Man Series and former American Late Model Series (ALMS) have joined to present a regional tour in a four-state area.

The former American Late Model Series has a vast history dating back to 1995. The ALMS was first formed by Earl Baltes, Larry Boos, Gene Frankhart and Ken Langhals with Bob Memmers of United Midwestern Promoters (UMP) supporting the tour with rules. On April 22, 1995 at Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, OH, Jerry Rice won the first-ever ALMS race, besting a field of 46 cars for the $2,000 payday. Former champions of the famed tour include: Kris Patterson (6 times), Shane Yoder (twice), Jerry Bowersock, Greg Johnson, Brian Ruhlman (4 times), Rusty Schlenk (5 times), Jon Henry (3 times), Brandon Thirlby (twice), Bobby Pierce, Casey Noonan and Rich Bell. Kris Patterson of St. Johns, Michigan was the all-time winningest ALMS driver at the end of the 2021 season with 36 victories.

The Iron-Man Late Model Series history goes back to 2004 when the first “Iron-Man Classic” was contested at Mountain Motor Speedway in Isom, KY. Jackie Boggs went on to take the first victory of the annual event, winning it twice and having nine total series victories. Former champions of the tour include: Michael Chilton (3 times), Tommy Bailey, Carder Miller, Joey Standridge, Robby Moses, Ryan King, Dustin Nobbe, Jensen Ford, Josh Henry and Josh Rice. Rice is the all-time winningest driver with 13 victories at the end of the 2023 season.

The Valvoline American Late Model Iron-Man Series attracts many of the most talented and professional race drivers and teams throughout the United States and tour provides race fans with an edge-of-your-seat experience that is like no other in any other form of short-track racing, as Dirt Late Models are some fastest full-fendered machines that compete in the dirt track racing arena.

Dirt Late Models are highly technical race cars and they are pieces of racing equipment that features an all-tubular chassis and many of these components are based on normal vehicle components, however, there is nothing stock about Dirt Late Model racing machines. The Dirt Late Models that compete with the Valvoline Iron-Man Racing Series are required to weigh a minimum of 2,350 pounds with the driver and utilize engines that are made up of all high-performance components that will make in excess of 800 horsepower.

The Valvoline American Late Model Iron-Man Series has a strict set of rules, regulations, and procedures by which their events are contested and the tour is committed to providing a safe and great racing experience to their customers, those being the race teams, drivers, and race fans.

The Valvoline American Late Model Iron-Man Series has in place the necessary infrastructure with an experienced professional staff to provide track owners, promoters, race teams, racers, crew members, race fans, and sponsors an exciting form of entertainment and also provides publicity to the tracks and race teams, along with brand awareness to sponsors and partners associated with the Valvoline American Late Model Iron-Man Series.


Chris Tilley

  • Job Title: President / Race Director
  • Hometown: Somerset, Kentucky
  • Years in Racing: 24 years
  • Favorite Event: World 100 (Eldora Speedway)
  • Favorite Track: Cedar Lake (WI) Speedway
  • Birthdate: May 24, 1985
  • Family: Single, no children.
  • Hobbies: Refereeing High School Basketball

Michael Despain

  • Job Title: Vice President / Public Relations / Series Announcer
  • *Hometown:*Campbellsville, KY
  • Years in Racing: 28 years
  • Favorite Event: Prairie Dirt Classic (Fairbury Speedway)
  • Favorite Track: Fairbury (IL) Speedway
  • Birthdate: August 10, 1970
  • Family: Jenny (Wife); Jake (Son)
  • Hobbies: Racing, Watching the Andy Griffith Show, Spending Time with my Family.

Wayne Maybrier

  • Job Title: Technical Inspector / Pit Official
  • Hometown: Somerset, KY
  • Years in Racing: 15 years
  • Favorite Event: The Eldora Million (Eldora Speedway)
  • Favorite Track: Cleveland (TN) Speedway
  • Birthdate: August 20, 1966
  • Family: Loretta (Wife)
  • Hobbies: Classic Cars & Dirt Track Racing

Tommy Yates

  • Job Title: Pit Official
  • Hometown: Somerset, KY
  • Years in Racing: 11 years working in racing. 40 years around the sport.
  • Favorite Event: World 100 (Eldora Speedway)
  • Favorite Track: Fairbury (IL) Speedway
  • Birthdate: October 12, 1970
  • Family: Tonya (Wife), Audrey (Daughter), Abigail and Olivia (Stepdaughters)
  • Hobbies: Racing and Sports

Series History (2020 & Earlier)

Official Online Store

Our Partners

Zerex By Valvoline
VP Race Fuels
Brucebilt Performance
Hoosier Racing Tires
Racetrack Safety Initiative
Vic Hill Racing Engines
Earnhardt Technologies Group
Swafford Signs
Impact Race Gear
XS Power Batteries
KY Clutch
SFP Performance Systems
Keltner Contracting
Stakt Products
Todd Steel Buildings
Jim  Nancy Viox
Dirt on Dirt
Domination Race Cars by RSR
Deatherage Opticians
Octane Custom Trailers
Chris Nash Racing
Allgaier Performance Parts
Allgaier Racing Shocks